Awards & Honors

Awards & Honors


Navarro-Garcia Patriot Award

Jose Antonio Navarro Statue, Corsicana TX

Jose Antonio Navarro Statue, Corsicana TX

Jose Antonio Navarro Statue, Corsicana TX

The highest honor given from Navarro County, Texas for Patriotism. It is given annually to an American citizen who has demonstrated selfless service and leadership in the promotion and honoring of Veterans from the Lone Star State and beyond.  The award is named for Jose Antonio Navarro, the namesake of Navarro County, who signed the Texas Declaration of Independence and wrote parts of the Texas Constitution. And, for Candelario “Spider” Garcia who received the Congressional Medal of Honor from President Obama in March of 2014.

The honorees name is affixed to a beautiful permanent plaque that includes a World War II American rifle, that is on display in Corsicana in a prominent place.


            2021 Lee William “Bill” McNutt, III    Co- Founder State Funeral for World War Veterans

        2020 Hershel “Woody” Williams,  WWII Veteran, USMC, Medal of Honor Recipient, Iwo Jima,1945

            2019  Fiske Hanley, WWII Veteran,  Air Force, Japanese POW, American Hero




Texas Governor Beauford Jester Award

Governor Beauford Jester

Governor Beauford Jester

Given to the Texas Veterans Parade Volunteer who is a Veteran of the United States Armed Forces and who makes the greatest contribution to the Texas Veterans Parade in Corsicana in a given year.   This person demonstrates during the year vital qualities of leadership including inspiring others, creativity and getting things accomplished.  The award is named for Beauford Jester from Corsicana who served his country in World War I and as the 36th Governor of Texas.

2021 Billy Richard, Veteran and Parade Chairman for the Texas Veterans Parade

2020 Retired COL Kathy Meisetschleager, USAF

                       2019 Retired Navy Captain Joe Hill, CEO of the Texas Veterans Parade



James Acree Award

Coach Jim Acree

Coach Jim Acree

Given to the Texas Veterans Parade Volunteer of the year who is not a military veteran.  To a person who has worked during the last year with great determination and effort to making the Texas Veterans Parade in Corsicana, Texas a success.  This award is named for James Acree, a Veteran of the Korean War who served as Corsicana High School’s football coach from 1960 to 1966, winning the AAA Texas State Championship in 1963 with a perfect record of 14-0. Jim Acree was a man of great determination and perseverance. His qualities are embodied in this award.


2021 Barbara Watkins, Daughters of the American Revolution

2020 Elizabeth Green Brown, Community National Bank

            2019 Ms Judy Dunavant, Daughters of the America Revolution.



Joe Barton -Ron Wright Congressional Trophy

Joe Barton

Awarded annually to a government official who has demonstrated love for Veterans and done the most to promote the mission of the Texas Veterans Parade organization during the past year.  It is named for two Congressmen who represented Navarro County for over 36 years.

In 1984, Joe Barton was first elected to Congress from the 6th congressional district of Texas when three-term incumbent Phil Gramm left his seat to successfully run for the U.S. Senate.  He served for 34 years and rose to become Chair of the House Energy Committee. Congressman Ron Wright was elected to Congress in November of 2018, upon the retirement of Congressman Barton.   Congressman Ron Wright had a special place in his heart for Veterans and served till his death of cancer in February of 2021.

Congressman Joe Barton helped locate the Veterans’ cemetery in Grand Prairie and Congressman Wright worked hard to bring the Medal of Honor Museum to Arlington , Texas.

2021, Judge H.W. Daveport.  County Judge, Navarro County